The Frontier League will look a little different come next season. The independent baseball league has announced that they are merging with the Can-Am League next year. The merger will create the largest independent league in professional baseball. The newly formed league will keep the Frontier League name. The Can-Am League was founded in 2005 and features six teams in both the United States and Canada. The new Frontier League will feature 14 teams with two divisions. The Joliet Slammers will play in the Midwestern division with Evansville, Florence, Gateway, Schaumburg, Southern Illinois and Windy City. The new teams will join Lake Erie and Washington in the Can-Am division. The Frontier League was formed in 1993, the River City Rascals won last years championship.