The Joliet Region Chamber of Commerce awarded 44 students, including 19 Joliet Public Schools District 86 students, from Joliet area schools with $1,000 college scholarships at the sixth annual Hawk Joliet Education Scholarship Banquet. Students in grades 4-8 who maintained a grade point average of 3.75 or above on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated service to their school or community were nominated by their school principal for the award. The scholarships were created to encourage and motivate students at an early age to attend college.

This year’s District 86 winners were: T.E. Culbertson Elementary: Sean Kirman (5 th grade); M.J. Cunningham Elementary: Amber Davis (5 th grade); Dirksen Junior High: Saniah Files (8 th grade); Eisenhower Academy: Teresa Swearinger (4 th grade); Farragut Elementary: ShyAwnna Green (5 th grade); Forest Park Individual Education (I.E.) School: Sergio Trevino (5 th grade); Gompers Junior High: Nydia Martinez (8 th grade); Hufford Junior High: Olivia Tristan (8 th grade); Thomas Jefferson Elementary: Camryn Matheny (5 th grade); Edna Keith Elementary: Victoria George (5 th grade); A.O. Marshall Elementary: Fatima Mascote (4 th grade); Pershing Elementary: Isabella Hebrard-Flores (4 th grade); Sator Sanchez Elementary: Darlyn Ulloa-Martin (5 th grade); Carl Sandburg Elementary: Melissa Verdin (5 th grade); Isaac Singleton Elementary: Natalie Barrera (4 th grade); Taft Elementary: Sophia Jordan (4 th grade); Lynne Thigpen Elementary: Tequanae Johnson (5 th grade); Washington Junior High: Elizabeth George (8 th grade); and Woodland Elementary: Gabriela Mendoza (5 th grade).