The Joliet Region Chamber of Commerce & Industry is proud to announce that Larry Walsh Sr. will receive the Brother James Gaffney Award of Excellence for his long record of service to the people of Will County and his continued willingness to work with the business community.  The Brother James Gaffney Award of Excellence was established in 2016 and will be given on the evening of Saturday, November 9 during the Chamber’s Annual Gala.   

Larry Walsh Sr. has had the responsibility of overseeing the day-to-day operations of all county departments since being elected to the office of Will County Executive in December of 2004. To this day, Larry effectively works with all for the greater good of the citizens of the county. He has overseen tremendous growth and improved relationships with state and federal offices.

Walsh, a lifelong Elwood resident, continues to farm property in the Elwood area. He credits a work ethic developed in farming for the many successes that have come in his public service career. He began his public service career in 1970 on the Elwood School Board, served as the Jackson Township Supervisor, was a Will County Board Member, and represented the 43rd District as an Illinois State Senator.

When asked about the selection of Larry Walsh Sr. as the recipient of the Brother James Gaffney Award of Excellence, Chamber President Mary Jaworski had this to say, “Larry Walsh Sr. has proven to be an effective leader in all positions held over his long career of service. He is a perfect example of who the Brother James Gaffney Award of Excellence seeks to honor. His eagerness to work with all sides for a positive outcome is to be commended. The Chamber is grateful for the many doors he has opened for our region over the years.”

Gala Chairs Mr. & Mrs. Clay Johnson and Honorary Co-Chairs Mr. Terry D’Arcy and Mr. Jim Roolf invite all to attend in celebration of this much deserved award.  More information about the Gala will be shared in the coming months. For more information about Chamber programs and events, visit or call the office at 815.727.5371.