New Illinois law allows workers to earn up to 40 hours of paid leave

Workers in Illinois are now earning paid time off as of the first of the year. The new law allows workers to earn up to 40 hours of paid leave in a 12-month period. Workers will accrue one hour of leave for every 40 hours worked. Gov. J.B. Pritzker signed the legislation in March, making Illinois the third state in the nation and first in the Midwest to mandate paid leave for any reason. Workers will be paid their full wage while on leave and tipped workers will be paid the minimum wage in their respective locale.