Parker takes over as Forest Preserve Board president

There is a new face at the helm of the Will County Forest Preserve’s Board of Commissioners.

Annette Parker of Crest Hill took over in December as president of Board of Commissioners for the Forest Preserve District of Will County.

She will serve a one-year term. She succeeds Meta Mueller of Aurora.

During a Board reorganization meeting in December 2022, it was decided by Board commissioners that Parker and Mueller would share the two-year presidential term, with Mueller serving first and Parker serving second. The term was split because there is a tie between Democrats and Republicans on the 22-member Board. Mueller is a Democrat and Parker is a Republican.

Parker has been on the Board since 2014. She served as vice president while Mueller was president. Mueller will now serve as vice president. Sherry Newquist of Steger will continue to serve as treasurer and Raquel Mitchell of Bolingbrook will continue to serve as secretary.